Legacy Awards Competition

Legacy Awards are $4,000 scholarships available to children and grandchildren of Elks members. Eligibility requirements are outlined below.

The 2024 application closes on February 5, 2024 at 11:59 a.m. PST.

Read below for eligibility information and answers to Frequently Asked Questions.

Who is Eligible?

  1. For the 2024 contest, any child or grandchild (or step-child, step-grandchild, or legal ward) of a living Elk who joined the order on or before April 1, 2021, or a charter member of a Lodge that was instituted on or after April 1, 2021, is eligible to apply. The Elk must also be a paid-up member through March 31, 2024. Great-grandchildren are not eligible.

  2. The applicant must be a high school senior.

  3. The applicant must apply online only. The 2024 Legacy Awards application deadline is February 5, 2024, 11:59 a.m. Pacific Time.

  4. If the applicant's parent and grandparent are both Elk members, the applicant must apply through the parent's Elks Lodge.

  5. We have waived the standardized test requirement for the 2024 Legacy contest. You do not need to submit ACT and/or SAT scores.

  6. Students may apply for more than one ENF scholarship; however, they may win only one. In cases where the student wins more than one, we will award the scholarship with the greater value. Students can accept local and state scholarships, which are separate from the awards at the national level.

  7. Legacy Awards may only be applied to accredited US American schools, colleges or universities. (Note: Applicants from Guam, Panama, Puerto Rico and the Philippines may apply Legacy Awards toward schools, colleges or universities in their respective homes.)

  8. If you are selected as a 2024 Legacy Awards recipient, you will be required to perform three instances of service with an Elks Lodge during the four years you are receiving the scholarship. Click here for more information about serving with the Elks.

    The 2024 Legacy Awards Contest Opened September 1.
    Click here to Apply to the 2024 Legacy Awards Contest Beginning September 1
[Back to Top]

How Do I Apply, and What Are the Deadlines?

Eligible students should apply in the following manner:

  1. The student must complete and submit the ONLINE application. The 2024 Legacy Awards application deadline is February 5, 2024 at 11:59 a.m. Pacific Time.

  2. The Elk sponsor’s membership will be verified through the BPOE Grand Lodge headquarters.

  3. When a student registers to complete the online application, both the applicant and Lodge Secretary will be notified by email.

  4. If you have questions about your online Legacy Awards application, contact the ENF Scholarship Office via email at scholarship@elks.org. Visit our Legacy Awards FAQ page.

  5. Upon receipt of the application, the applicant will receive a notification that the application was received. Winners will be announced in late April 2024.

Note: Because the contest begins in one Lodge year and the winners are announced in the next, a Legacy Award could go to the child or grandchild of a lapsed member. An applicant's Elk parent or grandparent must be a paid-up member in good standing at the time of application, but if the Elk chooses not to renew membership, that decision will not affect the outcome of the Legacy Awards contest.

[Back to Top]

Click here for Legacy FAQs.

ENF Legacy Awards
2024 Award Offers Per State and Area

The following reflects the number of possible awards allocated to each state or area in 2024. The remaining 100 at-large scholarships will be awarded to the best-scoring applicants, regardless of state and parentage.

State Legacy Awards
Alabama 3
Alaska 3
Arizona 7
Arkansas 3
California-Hawaii 23
Colorado 7
Connecticut 5
Florida 10
Georgia 3
Guam 1
Idaho 3
Illinois 14
Indiana 5
Iowa 3
Kansas 3
Kentucky 4
Louisiana 2
Maine 4
Maryland, Delaware & DC 7
Massachusetts 7
Michigan 5
Minnesota 4
Mississippi 3
Missouri 6
Montana 3
Nebraska 3
Nevada 4
New Hampshire 4
New Jersey 10
New Mexico 3
New York 9
North Carolina 4
North Dakota 3
Ohio 7
Oklahoma 3
Oregon 6
Panama 1
Pennsylvania 7
Philippines 1
Puerto Rico 1
Rhode Island 3
South Carolina 3
South Dakota 3
Tennessee 4
Texas 7
Utah 3
Vermont 3
Virginia 4
Washington 7
West Virginia 3
Wisconsin 5
Wyoming 3
Total 250

The Elks National Foundation is proud to present its 2023 ENF Legacy Awards recipients. Click here to see the full list of winners.

Past Legacy Awards Winners

Looking for other Elks scholarship options? Learn about Most Valuable Student Scholarships and Emergency Educational Grants.

Questions? Email Scholarship@elks.org or call 773/755-4732.


[Hate Has No Home Here]

Back to top