The Gunther & Lee Weigel Medical School Scholarship

The Elks National Foundation is pleased to offer an exclusive scholarship opportunity just for Elks scholars pursuing a medical degree or Osteopathic Medicine degree.

Champions of future doctors and ENF scholarships: Gunther & Lee Weigel

The Gunther & Lee Weigel Medical School Scholarships are scholarships offered to Elks scholars entering their first year of medical school. The scholarship was established through the generosity of the late Lee Weigel, widow of Gunther Weigel. The number of scholarships offered and amounts vary from year to year.

Lee lost her husband of 51 years in November 2009. Gunther was a longtime member of Miami, Fla., Elks Lodge No. 948. He was passionate about the Foundation’s scholarship programs. Lee established these scholarships to help Elks scholars pursue a career in medicine.

If you are an Elks scholar planning to attend an accredited U.S. medical school to pursue a medical degree or Osteopathic Medicine degree, consider applying before you begin your first year of medical school.

For the 2022 contest, twenty (20) $22,000 scholarships will be offered exclusively to Elks scholars** entering their first year of medical school in fall 2022. The application closes May 23, 2022.

Request an application from the ENF Scholarship office by emailing or calling 773/755-4732.

**Please note, this award is only open to current and former scholarship recipients of the Elks National Foundation. Winners of local Lodge scholarships and State Elks Association scholarships are not eligible for this program. This program is not open to the general public.**

2021 Gunther and Lee Weigel Medical School Scholarship Recipients

We are proud to announce the recipients of the 2021 Gunther and Lee Weigel Medical School Scholarship!


Past Gunther and Lee Weigel Medical School Scholarship Recipients

Read more about past Gunther and Lee Weigel Medical School scholarship recipients by clicking on a photo below.

Afeera Chaudhry

2017 MVS Scholar

Hamilton, NJ No. 2262

Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine

Dennis Youngs

2019 Emergency Educational Grant

Penn Yan, NY No. 1722

SUNY Upstate Medical University

Eric Xia

2017 MVS Scholar

Westbrook, CT No. 1784

Boston University School of Medicine

Iemaan Rana

2013 MVS Scholar

Chicago Northshore, IL No. 1316

University of Illinois College of Medicine

Kevin Glover

2012 MVS Scholar

Ely, NV No. 1469

University of Washington School of Medicine

Nicholas Balardi

2013 MVS Scholar

Chico, CA No. 423

University of Miami Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine

Olivia Fuson

2016 Legacy Scholar

Seaside, OR No. 1748

Oregon Health and Science University

Victoria Cegielski

2018 MVS Scholar

Puyallup, WA No. 1450

University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine

Ellen Zhang

2015 MVS Scholar

Clawson-Troy, MI No. 2169

Harvard Medical School

Ganeev Singh

2013 MVS Scholar

Whittier, CA No. 1258

Tufts University

Julia Miao

2015 MVS Scholar

Sunnyvale, CA No. 2128

Renaissance School of Medicine

Keoni Bailey

2015 MVS Scholar

Oshkosh, WI No. 292

University of Michigan Medical School

Ryan Elliott

2010 MVS Scholar

Atascadero, CA No. 2733

UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine

Safa Khawaja

2014 MVS Scholar

Fort Worth, TX No. 124

Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine

Maddi Bollig

2015 MVS Scholar

Fort Collins, CO No. 804

Northwestern University's Feinberg School of Medicine

Christina Fang

2013 MVS Scholar

Sacramento, CA No. 6

University of California-Irvine School of Medicine


Back to top
ENF Donor Bill of Rights