Legacy Awards Competition

Legacy Awards are $4,000 scholarships available to children and grandchildren of Elks members. Eligibility requirements are outlined below.

The 2025 contest and application will open on September 1, 2024.

Read below for eligibility information and answers to Frequently Asked Questions.

Who is Eligible?

  1. For the 2025 contest, any child or grandchild (or step-child, step-grandchild, or legal ward) of a living Elk who joined the Order on or before April 1, 2022, or a charter member of a Lodge that was instituted on or after April 1, 2022, is eligible to apply. The Elk must also be a paid-up member through March 31, 2025. Great-grandchildren are not eligible.

  2. The applicant must be a high school senior.

  3. The applicant must apply online only. The 2025 Legacy Awards application deadline is February 3, 2025, 11:59 a.m. Pacific Time. NOTE: This is NOON, mid-day, Pacific time.

  4. If the applicant's parent and grandparent are both Elk members, the applicant must apply through the parent's Elks Lodge.

  5. We have waived the standardized test requirement for the 2025 Legacy contest. You do not need to submit ACT and/or SAT scores.

  6. Students may apply for more than one ENF scholarship; however, they may win only one. In cases where the student wins more than one, we will award the scholarship with the greater value. Students can accept local and state scholarships, which are separate from the awards at the national level.

  7. Legacy Awards may only be applied to accredited US American schools, colleges or universities. (Note: Applicants from Panama, Puerto Rico and the Philippines may apply Legacy Awards toward schools, colleges or universities in their respective homes.)

  8. If you are selected as a 2025 Legacy Awards recipient, you will be required to perform three instances of service with an Elks Lodge during the four years you are receiving the scholarship. Click here for more information about serving with the Elks.

    Click here for Legacy FAQs.

    ENF Legacy Awards
    2025 Award Offers Per State and Area

    The following reflects the number of possible awards allocated to each state or area in 2025. The remaining 100 at-large scholarships will be awarded to the best-scoring applicants, regardless of state and parentage.

    State Legacy Awards
    Alabama 3
    Alaska 3
    Arizona 7
    Arkansas 3
    California-Hawaii 23
    Colorado 7
    Connecticut 5
    Florida 10
    Georgia 3
    Idaho 3
    Illinois 7
    Indiana 5
    Iowa 3
    Kansas 3
    Kentucky 4
    Louisiana 2
    Maine 4
    Maryland, Delaware & DC 6
    Massachusetts 7
    Michigan 5
    Minnesota 4
    Mississippi 3
    Missouri 6
    Montana 3
    Nebraska 3
    Nevada 4
    New Hampshire 4
    New Jersey 15
    New Mexico 3
    New York 9
    North Carolina 4
    North Dakota 3
    Ohio 8
    Oklahoma 3
    Oregon 9
    Panama 1
    Pennsylvania 7
    Philippines 1
    Puerto Rico 1
    Rhode Island 3
    South Carolina 3
    South Dakota 3
    Tennessee 4
    Texas 7
    Utah 3
    Vermont 3
    Virginia 4
    Washington 6
    West Virginia 3
    Wisconsin 5
    Wyoming 3
    Total 252

    The Elks National Foundation is proud to present its 2024 ENF Legacy Awards recipients. Click here to see the full list of winners.

    Past Legacy Awards Winners

    Looking for other Elks scholarship options? Learn about Most Valuable Student Scholarships and Emergency Educational Grants.

    Questions? Email Scholarship@elks.org or call 773/755-4732.

    [Hate Has No Home Here]

Back to top