The Elks was instituted September 1920. Plans for construction were considered as early as 1919. The location chosen was 403 12th Avenue So, the present site of the Salvation Army. By 1935 the membership dwindled due to the depression and it was necessary to cease operating for a few months.
By 1936 it was apparent that something must be done before the building was lost by default. The move was made to the east end of the 2nd floor of the Dewey Palace Hotel. The downtown location and growing economy solved financial hardships. This location was occupied until after World War II. This was also approximately the time the lodge purchased the Broadmore Country Club property for investment only.
By May of 1965 a dedication class of nearly 100 new members brought the membership close to 900. By 1968 the membership nearly doubled to 1700 members.
In 1959 the lodge quarters were small but adequate and membership was still growing. The "Possibility Committee" was formed to explore moving to a new location. It was decided to sell an investment property (the Broadmore Country Club) on a 10 year contract. The committee functioned until 1962 when it was finally determined to purchase the Belnap Building, the current location. By fall of 1964 the membership accepted the program and the buiding was dedicated.
The first Exalted Ruler of Nampa #1389 was W.C. (Con) Dewey. He was a pioneer of early years in Nampa and was the Dewey's youngest son, of the famous Col. Dewey of Silver City Mining and the builder of the Dewey Palace Hotel. There were 53 charter members and officers, all prominent men in the Nampa in those days. The last charter member, Vic Elver, passed away January 2nd, 1974.