Davenport, IA Lodge News

District No. 3200


The Elks Southeast District Hoop Shoot was held in Keokuk, Iowa, on Saturday, January 17, 2015. Three contestants from the Davenport Elks Lodge #298 will advance to state and compete for a chance to become the number one free-throw-shooter in the state of Iowa.

Congratulations to Davenport Elks Lodge #298 district winners, all of whom are from Alan Shepard Elementary school in Long Grove, Iowa.

8-9 Year Old Girls Division
Taylor Oetzmann made 24 out of 25 free-throws

10-11 Year Old Girls Division
Hattie Hagedorn made 15 out of 25 free-throws

10-11 Year Old Boys Division
Zach Johnson made 18 out of 25 free-throws

They will all compete for a state title on Sunday, February 22, 2015 at Grandview University in Des Moines, Iowa.

Winners from the state competition will then advance to the Elks North Central Region 3 (IA, IL, MN, WI) Hoop Shoot Semi-Final competition to be held in Iowa City, Iowa, on Saturday, March 21, 2015 and ultimately to the national level held in Springfield, Mass., in April 2015.

Hoop Shoot event chair John Zamora said, “We are so proud of these three students and hope they will continue their free-throw journey all the way to the National Finals in Springfield, Mass., which is the home of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. In the end, one boy and one girl from each age-group will win a national title and have their names permanently inscribed at the Basketball Hall of Fame. Again, we want to congratulate each of them for their hard work and accomplishments and wish them the best at state.”


Back to top