Davenport, IA Lodge News

District No. 3200


The Davenport Elks Lodge #298 hosted their annual Hoop Shoot on Saturday, January 10, 2014, in Davenport Central’s George Marshall Gym. More than 50 Iowa Quad Cities 8-13 year olds participated in the free-throw competition after qualifying at their respective schools.

The boys and girls were classified into their respective age groups, 8-9 year olds, 10-11 year olds and 12-13 year olds. Given a 10-minute warm-up, the 8-9 year olds started the Hoop Shoot off. With the boys at one basketball hoop and the girls at another, each contestant shot 25 free-throws. The individuals making the most free throws won their division respectively, and the first place winners will move on to compete at the district level on Saturday, January 17, 2015, in Keokuk, Iowa. District winners will then compete at the state level, the regional level and ultimately at the national level in Springfield, Mass. in April 2015.

A special congratulations to 9 year old Taylor Oetzmann from Alan Shepard Elementary School in Long Grove, Iowa, who won the overall Hoop Shoot by making 23 out of 25 free throws!

Congratulations to our local division champions, second and third place winners:

8-9 Year Old Boys
1st Place – Alex Milton, John F. Kennedy, Davenport
2nd Place – Jackson McCallister, Neil Armstrong, Eldridge
3rd Place tie – Croix Baker, Garfield, Davenport and Renaldo Rosales, Washington, Davenport

8-9 Year Old Girls
1st Place – Taylor Oetzmann, Alan Shepard, Long Grove
2nd Place – Josie Case, Ed White, Eldridge
3rd Place – Emma Strajack, John F. Kennedy, Davenport

10-11 Year Old Boys
1st Place – Zach Johnson, Alan Shepard, Long Grove
2nd Place – Grayson Juel, Neil Armstrong, Eldridge
3rd Place tie – J.J. Sratman, John F. Kennedy, Davenport and Braxton Henderson, Washington, Davenport

10-11 Year Old Girls
1st Place – Hattie Hagedorn, Alan Shepard, Long Grove
2nd Place – Danica Eberhart, Neil Armstrong, Eldridge
3rd Place – Marissa Stolfa, Adams, Davenport

12-13 Year Old Boys
1st Place – Connor Ogden, Neil Armstrong, Eldridge
2nd Place – Matthew Mickle, Hopewell, Pleasant Valley
3rd Place – Andrew Begerson, Ed White, Eldridge

12-13 Year Old Girls
1st Place – Reagan Schoening, Ed White, Eldridge
2nd Place – Kinsey Newman, Alan Shepard, Long Grove
3rd Place – Bella Burken, Neil Armstrong, Eldridge

Hoop Shoot event chair John Zamora said, “We have so many talented athletic youth in our area and through the Elks National Hoop Shoot Free Throw Program, the Elks National Foundation offers them the opportunity to engage in healthy competition, connect with their families and community and succeed both on and off the court. We want to especially thank all the youth who participated in this year’s Hoop Shoot program, their families who supported them and those who came to cheer them on.”


Back to top