Rochester, NH 1393

Rochester, NH Lodge News

Rochester Elks Awards Night 2023

Rochester Elks #1393 conducts Awards Night for 2023

On Saturday, March 18th, 2023 the Rochester Elks conducted its annual Awards Night. This was held in conjunction with the 120 Club Party in the Lodge Hall. Over 200 members and their guests were in attendance. A very delicious and well-prepared Roast Beef and Ham Dinner was served by chef Lisa Edgerly and her staff.

Exalted Ruler Matt Sanborn presented Grand Exalted Ruler Special Citations to Lodge Trustee Peter Meyer and member Julie Stevens for their outstanding volunteer efforts in the last twelve months. In addition, Matt recognized members Victor Rivera and Ken Verhelle for their outstanding service and support of the Rochester Lodge.

Elk of the Year was presented to Jerry Skidds, Past Exalted Ruler and Past District Deputy. Exalted Ruler Sanborn stated that in his opinion and in the opinion of many people at the Lodge, that Jerry was an easy choice for this coveted award. Jerry has been involved in so many facets of the Lodge and has worked tirelessly to ensure we had successful outcomes in numerous projects.

Officer of the Year was awarded to Esteemed Leading Knight Peter Ducharme. This selection is made by the Past Exalted Rulers Association and Peter was selected for his continuous and outstanding efforts concerning the duties of his office and many other instances where he stepped up and offered his support of Lodge activities.

Citizen of the Year went to James Clark, Past Exalted Ruler and Lodge Trustee. Jim was cited by Exalted Ruler Sanborn for his continuing efforts to reach out and get involved in community programs / events in the city of Rochester.

Exalted Ruler Matt thanked all who attended and also presented engraved beverage glasses to all of his Officers for their support and work accomplished throughout his year.

For more information about the Elks, please visit

Picture Caption: l to r, Jerry Skidds, Elk of the Year; Peter Ducharme, Officer of the Year and James Clark, Citizen of the Year.