Largo, FL 2159

Largo, FL Lodge News

News from Jeanne Reinhart PDDGER

News from Jeanne Reinhart PDDGER

The 116th Annual Florida Elks State Convention was held at the Rosen Centre Hotel in Orlando May 26 – 28, 2022.  It was a great convention for both Largo Lodge and for the West Central District (WCD). 

Some of Largo’s awards/acknowledgments include the following:

·    Sonja Lopez PER was installed as the WCD Vice President.

·    Jeanne Reinhart PDDGER was installed as the WCD Director to the Florida State Elks Association (FSEA) Board of Directors.

·    Sonja was elected Vice President of the FSEA Business Practices Committee, and Jeanne was elected as the Secretary for this committee.

·      Jeanne accepted the 3rd place trophy for Orientation for Largo Lodge.

·      Diane Sharp received an award for her role as WCD Drug Awareness Chairman.

·      Diane also participated in the Florida Ladies of Elks Auction.

WCD awards/acknowledgements included the following:

·    WCD received an award for the largest increase in membership in the state during 2021 – 2022.  Florida came in 3rd in the nation for membership growth.

·     Rita Smith, ER Tampa Lodge, was chosen as the female Veteran Affairs Voluntary Service (VAVS) Volunteer of the Year.

·   Johnny Miller, VAVS Representative to Bay Pines from St. Petersburg Lodge, was selected the male VAVS Volunteer of the Year.

·   Holiday Isles Lodge had the greatest increase in membership in the State.

·   Theresa Seibert PDD, Tampa Lodge, was elected as Vice Chairman of the Youth Camp Board of Directors.

·   Tony Fratello PDD, Tarpon Springs Lodge, became a member of the Children’s Therapy Services Board of Directors.

The Mount Dora High School Air Force Jr. ROTC performed the Table of Honor Ceremony at the VIP Reception to honor this year’s winners of Elks programs.  A very inspiring ceremony that all should see.

It was also pleasure to have Grand Lodge Secretary Bryan Klatt with us for the convention.

Thank you to ER Gloria Todd, Loyal Knight Pat Twoley, Trustee Jonny Liebchin, Lecturing Knight Hans Francis, and Peter Lopez for joining us at this great event!  Peter also celebrated his birthday at the convention.

Jeanne Reinhart PDDGER