Davenport, IA Lodge News

District No. 3200

Davenport Elks Lodge #298 Hoop Shoot District Winners – Two Advance to State, Two Take Second, Two Take Third

The Elks Southeast District Hoop Shoot was held in Keokuk, Iowa, on Saturday, January 16, 2015. Two contestants sent by the Davenport Elks Lodge #298 will advance to shoot at the state level in Grinnell, Iowa, on February 27, 2016 and compete for a chance to become the number one free-throw-shooters in the state of Iowa. In addition, two contestants took home second place trophies and though only first and second place winners were recognized at the District level on Saturday, acknowledgement goes out to the two contestants who finished in third place.

Congratulations to Davenport Elks Lodge #298 district Hoop Shoot winners:

8-9 Year Old Division             

Stella Smith, McKinley Elementary, Davenport – 1st Place
Carter Hoyt, Neil Armstrong Elementary, Eldridge – 3rd Place

10-11 Year Old Division

Hattie Hagedorn, Alan Shephard Elementary, Long Grove – 1st Place
Grayson Juel, Neil Armstrong Elementary, Eldridge – 2nd Place

12-13 Year Old Division

Dylan Akers, Ed White Elementary, Eldridge, - 2nd Place
Mackenzie Bohr, Ed White Elementary, Eldridge – 3rd Place

Hoop Shoot event chair Earl Oelerich said, “We are so proud of all of these students, especially our district winners and hope they will continue their free-throw journey all the way to the National Finals in Chicago, Ill. We have such talented athletic students in the Quad Cities area, our basketball future looks bright. Again, we want to acknowledge all students and congratulate them for their hard work and accomplishments and wish Stella and Hattie the best at state.

Back to top